top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePiperTara99

Day 45, Visiting the Fam

Both Kim and Ben were very tired last night, they pulled off at a rest area and said that we were going to sleep there. We had only been driving thirty minutes but they told me that it wasn't safe for them to drive all the way to New York. We ran the generator to cool down the Rv. There were trucks parked right next to us and when we opened the windows it was really loud. The Rv didn't stay cold for that long, an hour at most it was already hot, I had my blanket on only my legs. i drifted off to sleep for a few hours only two be woken up by the sound of the generator being turned back on. After that I was woken up a few more times by the sound of the generator being turned off or back on. Kim woke up at about 6:30 to start up the car and make up for lost time. I rested all the way until we had past New York. These travel days were beginning to get old I thought. In the first part of the day we were going to be visiting Kim's college. Yale.

We arrived at Yale just before 11. We found a couple open street parking spots. Kim then showed us her living quarters. The room she lived in when she was a soft more and a senior, and the room she lived in as a freshman. We walked down the street that she had also lived on in her junior year. She had lived in a house with 7 girls. We walked through the parks and checked out the library. She told us stories of College times. Then we walked down to her favorite restaurant that she had went to with friends all the time. They had racks of homemade deserts and a whole menu filled with vegetarian food. We checked the time and realized that it was starting to get towards the end of our parking meter time. There were 4 more hours until we would meet up with my grandma Wendy. 4 more hours of driving that is. On the way I learned how to do a Fishtail Braid. It was hard to braid anything on the road. It was so bumpy and all but I succeeded in learning the new style of braid.




We arrived at my grandma's house a little past 5. She lived with her husband Bruce and I had't seen him since last year. We sat outside and talked then we moved inside and showed my grandma our Rv. I was hungry, so we went inside to make some dinner. We ate outside, that is until the mosquitos were to much for us. Then we moved back inside. I was tired after the small amount of sleep I had gotten last night. Daniel was going to be sleeping in the spare bedroom and me on the couch. Leaving Kim and Ben in the Rv. I was glad I was finally getting to sleep on time.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page