top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePiperTara99

Day 47, Kayaking to the Ocean

I woke up in a house once again. The Rv was parked at the Rv park with Kim and Ben in it. Daniel and I were taking a break from the Rv, I wasn’t sure if it would make going back to the Rv for the ride home better or worse. Anyway today were going to be kayaking down to the ocean. I hadn’t kayaked down to the ocean since I was like three or five years old. So I didn’t really know what to expect. My grandma had three kayaks. So if all five of us were going to ride down to the ocean we would have to double up in one of the single kayaks. Turns out that Ben had to make a phone call so he just drove down to the ocean and would meet us there. My grandma‘s rental house was right next to the river that flows in to the tide pool. We had to cross the damn to get to the other side of the river. So we had to drag the kayaks up the steep river bank and then down the other side. Kim almost flipped her kayak into the water.



My arms are starting to get tired and it didn’t really seem like the tide was pulling us out like it was sopposed to. We had checked the tides for when we should take our trip. Our plan was to go down to the ocean and then stay for a little while and then kayak back against the current. This plan was a little bit off the hinges. When we were ready to leave the ocean we realized the tide pool was emptying out much faster then expected. We asked some locals and they told us that was because the tide was actually high at 12, and we thought it wasn’t high until one. We left the kayaks by the tide pool and had Ben come pick us up. We planned to come back in the morning and pick up the kayaks and ride them all the way back to my grandmas rental house. My family and I all went back to our RV and made dinner, later on we were going to make a late night fire in the campsite.

We had Smore‘s ready for when it got dark, fire was roasting hot and almost perfect for Smore‘s. My goal is to make a perfectly brown marshmallow by the end of the night and I succeeded. It took four tries but by the end I have a perfectly crispy brown Marshmallow. and so did Daniel. The night was fun, and after we were all done with the fire Daniel and I both went back with my grandma and we’re going to stay another night at her house.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page