top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePiperTara99

Day 48, Last Day in Maine

Surprisingly when I woke up this morning I was ready to go back in the Rv, ready to get back on the road start heading home. Not that I didn’t love being out Maine, by the coast, and with my grandparents, I was just missing home. We had to go and pick up the kayaks from the beach, so we were timing the tide, and figured that if we were down to the ocean by 11:30 in the kayak’s paddling we would make it up to the dam before high tide ended. We started thinking later that we would need more time to get up to the dam. So we left early, and when we got down to the beach the tide was still much to low to paddle any kayaks. In about an hour. So we went down to a little store that sold desserts. We bought a bunch of maple sugar and chocolate cake. And ate basically all of it in the car. When we got back to the beach the tide was high enough for us to push the kayaks in to the water.

Rain was pattering on our heads as we began our journey up to the dam. We were going with the current, so it was a lot faster than expected, about halfway up to the dam we started getting drenched in pouring rain. The water was still but with the rain it was making a misty haze in our path. I wasn’t paddling since I was in the double boat, so I was a lot colder then everybody else. The rain passed over us, and I thought it was over with. But then we started hearing a sound almost like a waterfall, I didn’t really remember that sound from yesterday. Within seconds of questioning the sound we realized it was rain hitting the trees. Once again we got soaked, I was sitting in a puddle of water. We got hit one more time before getting to the dam.





My grandma had been waiting for us to get the damn to take pictures, she said that she’s only gotten there about 20 minutes before we did. Meaning it only took us half an hour to paddle from the ocean to the dam. We had to drag the boat up the rocks next to the dam, we nearly flipped one, and on the other side of the dam we almost flipped it again.

Once we got back to Wendy’s house we made lunch and then went and met up with my grandpa and his wife. We sat around his house and talked for a while, and made plans to meet up later. Then we went to our next Rv park. There was a Trolley that picked up people from the Rv park and took them down to the pier. Kim and Ben were going to meet up with Rodger (my grandpa) and Lisa. Daniel and I went to the pier and got day passes for the rides. We rode rides all the way until 10 and then waited in the long line to get back into the Trolley. Tomorrow we were going to be leaving Maine and driving down to Amherst, New York and then work or way home

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page