top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePiperTara99

Day 50, Planning for the Drive Home

Time flew by in the morning, I woke up late and didn't get out of bed till later it was the kind of morning I would have if I was in my room. We did have a lot of driving to do today, but the screening tonight wasn't until 7:30 so there was plenty of leisure time. We were going to have to drive basically all day. Last night I had told myself I'd wake up early and shower at the Rv park, when I woke up I had a different plan. Anyway by the time we started driving it was a little past 9. I called multiple different Rv parks by the Niagara Falls and finally concluded on a few good looking ones. Kim made the final calls and made a reservation for us to stay just outside Buffalo. We drove for a few hours before stopping in a town to stock the fridge. The store was in the middle of the neighborhood, I wasn't exactly sure what to expect, but when we walked in I was happy to see the racks of fresh fruit. The fridge was stocked once again, and we headed into the center Syracuse.

The Erie Canal had once gone through the center of the town, we went to a museum that explained all about this river, the museum by Kim's standards was the coolest museum she had ever seen. They had a boat model of one of the ships that would travel up and down the canal. You could walk on the deck and down into the middle of the ship. It was a huge and super cool museum. When we left we walked around the town a little more and checked out a town square the the manually filled with water so that a fountain could spray out water. When we were all satisfied with the town we got back on the road and drove all the way down to Buffalo. I worked on our road map, entered a few new points and then made a 'dream plan' of how much we could drive each day, and in what places it would be great to stop at. My plan consisted of 9 days, we would go to Niagara falls tomorrow and then to the worlds 2nd largest amusement park in San dusky, Ohio. Then we would travel all the way to the west side of South Dakota and see some of the best national monuments around. Our ride home was looking super fun. Kim even said she was excited to see the monuments that were on the list.



When we got to the theater I looked at the surrounding area and realized we were parked in the lot of a mall. Kim took me out shopping, to the H&M as wells as Macy's. The school shopping had officially begun. My wardrobe was growing to the point it was hard to fit it all in my singular storage cabinet. Some of the clothing I bagged up and saved for later. We all then went to the YMCA in town. We all worked out for over an hour. It was interesting how different all of the Y's were. This one had a weight room that was split into two sections, we didn't realize there was a second section until we were leaving. There showers were like pool showers, you had to constantly push a button for the water to pour out. We got back to the theater 10 minutes before the screening ended. This was the last screening that my family would be attending. The other Rv is still on course and going to finish out the tour till the very end. Up next on the riding home list is Niagara Falls where we will be walking into the caves that lead behind the water fall so stay tuned tomorrow for that adventure!

24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page